GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 393-3 LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

Rule 393-3-.01 Americans With Disabilities Act

The Board will provide reasonable accommodation to a qualified applicant with a disability in accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act. The request for an accommodation by an individual with a disability must be made in writing and received in the Board Office by the application deadline along with appropriate documentation, as indicated in the Request for Disability Accommodation Guidelines.

Rule 393-3-.02 Licensure Requirements for Nursing Home Administrators

A person who seeks licensure by examination as a nursing home administrator must show the following:

(a) Be at least 21 years of age;
(b) Be of reputable and responsible character;
(c) Be a citizen of the United States or have a registration card indicating valid residency and work status in the United States; all applicants must submit a secure and verifiable document, as defined in Code Section 50-36-2;
(d) Be qualified to work in a skilled nursing home as outlined in state rules as promulgated by the Georgia Department of Community Health, federal regulations as promulgated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and Board rules. The following are the education requirements accepted by the Board:
1. A doctorate or master's degree in health administration, health services administration, health care administration, or nursing, or other related healthcare degrees, and a 500 hour Georgia AIT program; or
2. A baccalaureate degree in health administration, health services administration, health care administration, or nursing, or other healthcare related degree, and a 1000 hour Georgia AIT program, or
3. An associate degree in nursing or licensed practical nursing certification with four years of full-time work in any skilled nursing facility with the last two years being in management, and a 1500 hour Georgia AIT program; or
4. Six years of full-time work in any skilled nursing facility with the last three years being in management and no less than 48 semester units or 90 quarter units of college, plus a 2000 hour Georgia AIT program, or
5. Eight years full-time experience in a skilled nursing facility with the last five years being in management, a High School Diploma, and a 2000 hour Georgia AIT program.
(e) Management experience is defined as full-time employment as a department manager or licensed professional supervising a staff of two or more employees in a skilled nursing facility or skilled nursing hospital unit.
(f) Education is defined as one year of college with 45 quarter hours or 24 semester hours of course work at an educational institution accredited by a regional body recognized by the Council of Post-Secondary Accreditation (like SACS).
(g) If an applicant does not meet these requirements but does have a doctorate, masters or baccalaureate degree in a field outside of healthcare, the applicant would be required to complete a 2000 hour AIT program in Georgia to qualify for licensure.

Rule 393-3-.03 Examination for Nursing Home Administrators

(1) Upon the Board's approval of the completion of an AIT program, an applicant shall be approved to take the national exam. No applicant shall be approved to register and sit for the national exam prior to the Board approval of the AIT program.
(2) Following the Board approval of the completion of the AIT program, an applicant shall complete all requirements for licensure as a Nursing Home Administrator within six (6) months of the date of Board approval of the AIT program's completion.
(3) If the applicant fails to complete all requirements for licensure as a Nursing Home Administrator within the six (6) month timeframe, the application will be withdrawn and the applicant must submit a new application, current documentation and fee.

Rule 393-3-.04 Licensure Requirements for Assisted Living Community Administrators and Personal Care Home Administrators

A person who seeks licensure by examination as an Assisted Living Community Administrator or Personal Care Home Administrator must show the following:

(a) Be at least 21 years of age;
(b) Be of reputable and responsible character;
(c) Be a citizen of the United States or have a registration card indicating valid residency and work status in the United States; all applicants must submit a secure and verifiable document, as defined in Code Section 50-36-2;
(d) Be qualified to work in an assisted living community or personal care home as outlined in state rules, as promulgated by the Georgia Department of Community Health, and Board rules.
(e) Proof of completion of one of the following:
1. At least one year of full-time practical experience in a healthcare facility or managerial/supervisory experience outside of a healthcare facility prior to the date of the application AND certification from a nationally recognized program (e.g. Senior Living University), program accredited by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB), or any other program approved by the Board, which teaches the responsibilities of Assisted Living Community Administration, is a minimum of 14 hours in length, and requires passage of a written exam; or
2. Health Services Executive (HSE) qualification from the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB); or
3. Hold a master's degree in a health care related field that includes a minimum of 21 semester hours of coursework concentrated on the administration and management of health care services AND passage of the Resident Care/Assisted Living (RCAL) national examination administered by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB); or
4. Hold an active, unencumbered Georgia license as a Nursing Home Administrator.