Chapter 681-3 LICENSING
|(1)||No application shall be accepted for review until the application is complete in every respect.|
|(2)|| A "complete application" shall include:
All applications for licensure as a used car dealer must be accompanied by a non-returnable photograph or photographs which shall be maintained as a permanent part of the application. Such photograph(s) should be of a size and quality sufficient to clearly depict the required information. Such photograph(s) shall show the complete facility, appropriate sign, and the entire display area of the applicant's establishment.
|(1)||A supplemental license shall be required of a Georgia licensed used motor vehicle dealer for each car lot operated by or proposed to be operated by the Georgia licensee for any period to exceed ninety-six (96) consecutive hours, when such lot is not located immediately adjacent to the established place of business. Each and every lot operated or proposed to be operated by the Georgia licensee for any period to exceed ninety-six (96) consecutive hours, which is not located immediately adjacent to the licensee's established place of business, must have its own supplemental license, and no supplemental license shall extend to more than one lot.|
|(2)|| In order to be entitled to
the issuance of a supplemental license, the licensee must hold a valid Georgia
used car dealer's license and is required to provide the Division with an
appropriate application and the following information:
|(3)|| A used motor vehicle dealer
may engage in the used car business at a temporary site for a period not to
exceed ninety-six (96) consecutive hours in a 30-day period of time. Any
licensed dealer who proposes to conduct a sale on a temporary site must submit
a complete application for a temporary site sale permit with the Board at least
60 days prior to the proposed starting date of the temporary site sale. A
complete application will include the appropriate fee as listed on the
application, a copy of the written notice(s) required by this rule to be given
to each purchaser of a vehicle at the temporary site sales, written
documentation demonstrating that the dealer has complied with any licensing
requirements applicable in the local jurisdiction in which the temporary site
sale will occur, and a copy of a written agreement with the owner of the real
property where this sale will occur. A separate application and fee must be
submitted for every temporary site sale. The approved permit shall be forwarded
to the licensed dealer prior to the proposed starting date of the sale. The
dealer shall be required to post the approved permit in a conspicuous place at
the temporary site sale. A used motor vehicle dealer may not operate at a
temporary site more than three times in any one calendar year. The temporary
site must be located within one county of the county of the dealer's
established place of business.
Each application for license shall be accompanied by proof that shows sufficient evidence of used motor vehicle dealer's public liability and property damage insurance with liability limits as sets forth in O.C.G.A. Section 43-47-8(k).
Effective March 1, 2007, new applicants for used motor vehicle dealer license may conduct business at a location where other businesses are conducted, provided that a clear and distinct separation of business is established. Exemption from the requirements of this rule will be granted to like-kind businesses with common designee/ownership, including, but not limited to, title pawn stores, used parts licensees, and auto rental businesses. The entrance to the dealer's office or salesroom may not be shared by another business of any kind. The dealer must maintain a separate office with separate inventory, records, and files necessary to conduct the business. The dealer must maintain the dealership name on all required documents and vehicles for sale. The dealer's office must be accessed from outside the building. No dealer may maintain an office or salesroom that is entered from within another business office. The dealer's address must be differentiated from the other businesses at the location by a separate suite number or office number. The telephone of the dealer must be listed in the dealer's name, the same name listed on the application and all advertisements, and cannot be shared with another business. The sign must be in compliance with local ordinances and with Board requirements.