GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 681-16 SCHEDULE OF FINES

Rule 681-16-.01 Schedule of Fines

The Used Motor Vehicle Division may impose fines for violations of O.C.G.A. Chapter 43-47. The fines shall not exceed $500 per violation. A licensee, who actually holds a license or a person who is required to be licensed by this Chapter, who commits a violation as listed below, may be fined as indicated. However, the Division may, in its discretion, change the Schedule of Fines in whole or in parts as necessary. Further, the licensee shall pay the fine within thirty (30) days after receiving written notification from either the appropriate division or a representative of the Division unless the licensee requests, in writing, a hearing before the Division. Such request for a hearing must be received by the Division within thirty (30) days after receipt of the written notification from the Division. Failure either to pay the fine or request a hearing shall result in immediate suspension of the license pending a hearing by the Division to determine whether revocation or other disciplinary action should be imposed on the licensee. In addition to the fine schedule, the Division may impose further disciplinary action against a dealer who is cited for repeated violations. The Division may impose the following progressive disciplinary action:

(a) First violation within a six-month period: Appropriate fine for the violation as listed in this rule;
(b) Any subsequent violation within a six-month period: A Public Consent Order with appropriate fine for the violation as listed in this rule and Probation for 12 months;
(c) Any violation during Probationary period: Suspension of the license for six months. At the end of the six-month suspension period, the applicant may make written request to the Division to release the suspension of the license. If the Division grants the lifting of the suspension, the license shall be reactivated by Public Consent Order with Probation for 12 months. Any operations of the dealership during the period of Suspension shall be grounds for and may result in Revocation of the license.
(d) Any violation during this Probationary period shall be grounds for and may result in Revocation of the license.
(e) The violations and Fines are as follows:
1. Failure to apply for a title in the retail purchaser's name within 30 calendar days after the date of sale; $500 per violation;
2. In possession of an open title not properly assigned as prescribed by O.C.G.A. Title 40: $250 per violation;
3. Failure to display a properly completed buyers guide as prescribed by the Federal Trade Commission Rules: $250 per violation;
4. The display or sale of a vehicle for profit in violation of O.C.G.A. Chapter 43-47 by unlicensed persons who have not properly titled and tagged, in their name, the vehicle offered for sale: $500 per violation;
5. Failure to furnish the retail purchaser of a vehicle the proper documents in order for said purchaser to obtain a tag for that vehicle within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of purchase: $500 per violation;
6. Aiding and abetting an unlicensed person in selling vehicles by allowing the unlicensed person to sell those vehicles using a license granted by the Division: $500 per violation; and
7. Failing to properly complete a "finance contract" which complies with the Federal Reserve System, Title I, Regulation Z (Truth In Lending Act) when financing vehicles which are being sold to purchasers: $500 per violation.
8. Failing to maintain the required surety bond or liability insurance: $500 shall be imposed;
9. Failure to properly make application to the Division for a name change or change of location within the required 30 day period: $250 shall be imposed;
10. Failure to make application for an off-premises temporary license: $250 per violation;
11. Failure to check the appropriate box on odometer disclosure statement and certificate of title: $500 per violation; and
12. Failure to submit an application for change of ownership in the required 30 day period: $100 shall be imposed.
13. Failure to obtain a bill of sale or odometer statement from the individual or company from which the licensee acquired the vehicle: $250 per violation. (Such information must be maintained in the records of the licensee.)