Chapter 671-3 LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
|(1)||Any occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant who plans to practice as a licensed occupational therapist or licensed occupational therapy assistant in the State of Georgia shall apply for licensure to the Board, on forms provided by the Board.|
|(2)||In order to meet the Georgia requirements for licensure, an applicant must submit an affidavit stating that the applicant is a U.S. citizen or an affidavit stating that the applicant is lawfully present in the U.S. under federal immigration law and O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(f)(1).|
|(3)|| Lawful presence in the U.S. must be
|(4)||Both the secure and verifiable document and affidavit of citizenship must be submitted to the Board to complete the licensure application.|
|(5)||Applicants for occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant licensure in Georgia must meet all requirements for licensure as defined within the statute and Board Rules prior to issuance of a license.|
Three references will be required on forms provided by the Board from individuals who have knowledge of the applicant's professional training or experience within the last five years. At least one professional reference must be from certified or licensed occupational therapy practitioner. The second professional reference may be from another certified or licensed occupational therapy practitioner or any other licensed healthcare professional. The third and final reference must be a personal reference.
All applicants for licensure as occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants are required to pass a written examination, approved by the Board, for license to practice the profession in Georgia, except as otherwise provided in Section 43-28-9 of the Law.
Passing score of the examination will be determined by the Board Prior to administration of the examination.
An examinee who fails the examination approved by the Board may retake the examination at a subsequent examination date.
|(1)||Upon determination by the Board that all requirements for licensure have been met except for the examination, a ninety (90) day limited permit shall be issued and shall allow the applicant to practice occupational therapy under the supervision of an occupational therapist who holds a current license in this State. This limited permit shall not be issued or renewed if the applicant has ever failed any exam(s) administered or approved by the Georgia Board of Occupational Therapy.|
|(2)||Applicants who have successfully completed a certification examination approved by the Board may be issued a ninety (90) day limited permit. This permit shall allow the applicant to practice occupational therapy, for a period not to exceed 90 days, under the supervision of an occupational therapist who holds a current license in this state.|
|(3)||The Board may issue an applicant a ninety (90) day limited permit in order to complete the required 320 hours of clinical experience under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.|
|(1)||Applications for examination shall be acted upon by the Board at its next regularly scheduled general meeting or, at the discretion of the Board, may be acted on by phone following the receipt of the required fees and all credentials. Applicants qualifying for the examination will be notified.|
|(2)||Applications for license shall be reviewed at the next regularly scheduled general meeting of the Board after all requirements for licensure have been met and the examination scores have been received by the Board.|
|(1)||A license issued by the Board shall expire on March 31st of even numbered years. The license may be renewed upon submission of the renewal application and payment of the required fee, provided all requirements have been met. Refer to fee schedule.|
|(2)||A license that is not renewed on or before March 31st of the renewal year shall be deemed lapsed. An application for reinstatement shall be required as provided for in Rule 671-3-.09 in order to seek reinstatement of a lapsed license to practice in this State. Practicing with an expired license is prohibited by law and practice during this period may result in disciplinary action for unlicensed practice.|
|(3)|| Before or on March 31, 2014 and for
renewal cycles after that date, the continuing education requirements contained
in this rule will be required for the renewal or reinstatement of a license.
Except as otherwise provided, each licensee is required is required to complete
during each two (2) year renewal period a minimum of twenty-four (24)
continuing education hours prior to the expiration date of the license. Failure
to complete continuing education prior to expiration date can result in
disciplinary action. Acceptable professional continuing education activities
shall include activities relevant to occupational therapy practice that can be
deemed to update or enhance knowledge and skills required for competent
performance beyond entry level occupational therapy. A cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) course may not be submitted to satisfy any of the
continuing education requirements or employer sponsored compliance coursework.
A continuing education hour is defined as actual time spent in instruction or
organized learning experiences excluding meals, breaks, welcome/introductions,
and business meetings.
|(4)||An individual who is applying for licensure in Georgia for the first time (never having held a Georgia OT or OTA license) and who is licensed during the second year of the biennium renewal period is not required to meet continuing education requirements for that initial renewal period only.|
|(5)||Prior approval of continuing education courses is not required. Each licensee randomly selected for a CE audit must submit to the Board supporting documentation as specified in this rule.|
|(6)|| Beginning the licensure renewal biennium
of April 1, 2018 through March 31, 2020, persons licensed to practice as an
occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant, or persons who
file an application for reinstatement of licensure, must submit documentation
of completed continuing education courses and experiences for renewal or
issuance of a license. Licensees and applicants for reinstatement may register
earned CE credits for courses and experiences with an online recording and
reporting system approved by the Board. Licensees and applicants may register
with a Board approved online system prior to April 1, 2018 to document CE
credits for license renewal and reinstatement.
|(7)|| Procedures for verifying to the Board
that the continuing education requirements for licensure renewal have been met:
|(8)|| Documentation of continuing education
which the Board deems as acceptable proof of completion includes the following:
|(1)||Reinstatement of an expired license is within the discretion of the Board.|
|(2)|| A license may be reinstated by submission
of the following:
applicant for reinstatement of a license who has not practiced
within five (5) years must also submit the following:
|(1)||An applicant for licensure through examination who has graduated from an occupational therapy course or school taught or situated in a foreign country may be admitted to the examination by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Board that his/her course of training was as high as the standards maintained in Georgia. In ascertaining whether such an applicant meets such standards, the Board shall consider whether the school or course of training has been approved by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board and whether the applicant's credentials have been evaluated and accepted by the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board.|
|(2)||The Board requires that foreign trained applicants must successfully complete the foreign trained occupational therapy practitioner's process as is required to take the board approved examination. The Board approved examination is administered by the NBCOT.|
Refer to fee schedule for appropriate fees payable to the Board. Fees may be reviewed and changed at the discretion of the Board. Any request for refund must be submitted in writing. An indebtedness to the Board caused by a returned check will be dealt with in accordance with Code Section 16-9-20 of the Criminal Code of Georgia.
|(1)||A licensee shall notify the Board in writing immediately of any address change. If a duplicate pocket license is requested, the appropriate fee must accompany the request.|
|(2)||A licensee shall immediately notify the Board in writing of any name change of the licensee. The notification to the Board of the name change shall be accompanied by a copy of the court order, marriage certificate, or other legal document verifying the change in name. A change in name requires a duplicate pocket license. Therefore, the appropriate fee for a duplicate pocket license must accompany the notification.|
|(1)|| As used in this
Licensure by reciprocity of service members, transitioning service members, and
military spouses. A service member, transitioning service member, or military
spouse may qualify for a license by reciprocity where the applicant:
|(3)|| Certification for utilization of
occupational therapy techniques involving physical agent modalities ("PAMs") of
service members, transitioning service members, and military spouses. A service
member, transitioning service member, or military spouse may qualify to obtain
PAM certification from the Board if he or she:
|(4)|| Limited permits
for service members, transitioning service members, and military spouses.