GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Subject 560-10-27 FREE VETERANS LICENSE PLATES

Rule 560-10-27-.01 Free Handicapped Veterans License Plates. Amended

(1) A disabled veteran shall submit to the county tax commissioner or tax collector an application accompanied by a letter or certificate from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
(a) The disabled veteran shall be a resident and citizen of Georgia;
(b) The disabled veteran shall be honorably discharged; and
(c) The disabled veteran has been adjudicated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs as being 100 percent totally disabled or less than 100 percent disabled but is compensated at the 100 percent level due to individual employability.
(2) The disabled veteran license plate shall be issued in duplicates, a license plate for the rear and a license plate for the front of the vehicle.
(a) The renewal decal shall be placed on the rear license plate.
(b) For a motor cycle, a single license plate shall be issued and affixed to the rear of the motorcycle
(3) A disabled veteran shall be limited to a single set of disabled veteran license plates.
(a) A disabled veteran license plate shall only be issued for private passenger vehicles owned or leased by a disabled veteran and not used for commercial purposes.
(4) Upon the death of a disabled veteran, the surviving spouse or minor child of the disabled veteran may retain the disabled veteran's license plate in accordance with Code Section 40-2-69.

Rule 560-10-27-.02 Free License Plates: Prisoners of War

(1) A Georgia veteran, in any branch of the armed services, who was a prisoner of any war by forces hostile toward the United States, upon furnishing a certificate from the Veterans Administration of the United States, or State Department of Veterans Service certifying that he was a prisoner of any such war as defined in Code Section 68-288, shall be entitled to one free prisoner of war license plate as provided for by Ga. Laws 1981; pp. 516, 517.
(2) All applications for free prisoner of war license plates must be submitted to the County Tax Commissioner or Tax Collector in the County of applicant's residence on or after January 1, 1982 along with the certificate described in paragraph (1) of this rule.
(3) Upon transfer of the ownership of a motor vehicle bearing a prisoner of war license plate, the owner shall remove said plate and the authority to use the same shall thereby be cancelled; provided however, that after such transfer of ownership, should the owner acquire another vehicle the license plate may be transferred to the new vehicle by owner's registration certificate and Form MV-99.
(4) Only one free prisoner of war license plate will be issued to each eligible applicant. Additional license plates shall not be available for purchase.