GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 54-7 SANCTIONS

Rule 54-7-.01 Revocation of Registration or Discipline of Registrant

(1) The Commission may revoke a registration or may discipline a registrant upon a finding that the registrant, its representative or employee has violated Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 43-4A-7.
(2) When the Commission finds that a registrant should be disciplined, it may take any one or more of the actions enumerated in Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 43-4A-8.

Rule 54-7-.02 Unregistered Practice: Felony, Void Contract

(1) Any person who engages in the occupation of an athlete agent without first being registered with the Commission shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $5,000.00 or more than $100,000.00 or by imprisonment from one to five years, or both.
(2) Any agent contract or professional services contract that is negotiated for, with, or on behalf of an athlete by a person who has not first registered with the Commission is void.

Rule 54-7-.03 Failure to Maintain Surety Bond

(1) The Commission shall suspend a registration if the registrant fails to maintain such bond so as to comply with Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 43-4A-13 or Section 43-4A-14. An athlete agent shall not carry on business as an athlete agent during the period of suspension.
(2) The Commission shall revoke a registration for failure to renew if the registrant does not submit a renewal application, renewal bond and fee prior to October 1 of the renewal year.

Rule 54-7-.04 Failure to Comply with Signing Provisions

Regardless of whether or not an athlete loses eligibility to participate in intercollegiate sports contests at an institute of higher education, an agent who fails to comply with the early signing provisions of Chapter 54-4, the following shall apply:

(a) The agent shall be liable for damages in the amount of the surety bond (See Rule 54-3-.03 ) to the athletic department at the institution of higher education at which the athlete is enrolled; and
(b) Any agent contract that is negotiated by the agent on behalf of the athlete is void; and
(c) The agent is subject to forfeiture of any right of repayment of anything of value that was received by an athlete as an inducement to enter into an agent contract or that was received by an athlete before completion of the athlete's last intercollegiate sports contest.
(d) The agent shall be subject to disciplinary action by the Commission pursuant to Rule 54-7-.01.