GA - GAC
Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Terms and Conditions of Agreement for Access to Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia Website

(Note: certain features of this site have been disabled for the general public to prevent digital piracy. If you are an entitled government entity pursuant the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, O.C.G.A.§ 50-13-7(d) contact the State of Georgia's Administrative Procedures Division at 678-364-3785 to enable these features for your location.)

To access this website, you must agree to the following:

These terms of use are a contract between you and/or your employer (if any), and Lawriter, LLC.

You agree not to use any web crawler, scraper, or other robot or automated program or device to obtain data from the website.

You agree that you will not sell or license anything that you download, print, or copy from this website.

THIS WEBSITE AND ITS CONTENT ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." THE STATE OF GEORGIA AND LAWRITER EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL WARRANTIES, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, AND NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ARE NOT LIABLE TO ANY PERSON FOR ANY ERRORS IN INACCURACIES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE.

By accessing and/or using this website, you agree to the terms and conditions above. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions above, you must cease accessing and/or using this website and destroy all material obtained from this website without your agreement.

If you accept these terms enter the information below and click “I AGREE”.

Chapter 121-2 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE

Rule 121-2-.01 Statewide Electrical Contractor License

(1) To obtain a statewide class I or class II electrical contractor license, a person must submit a completed application, meet the experience requirement as described in Paragraph (2) of this rule, obtain a score of seventy (70) on the appropriate examination, and pay the fees required by the Board. An applicant must submit three references on the required form from persons who can attest to the applicant's good character and electrical experience to the satisfaction of the Division. At least one reference must be from a licensed electrical contractor who shall include his or her registration number. Statewide class I electrical contractor licenses are restricted to electrical contracting involving single-phase electrical installations which do not exceed 200 amperes at the service drop or the service lateral. Class II electrical contractor licenses are unrestricted.
(2) Applicants for statewide electrical contractor license must be a minimum of 21 years old and document a minimum of 4 years experience in the electrical field as would be covered by the Georgia Electrical Code or the National Electrical Code. Such experience must be Primary Experience. No more than one (1) year of experience may be credited based on Secondary Experience or Education. Secondary Experience time will be credited at a rate of fifty percent (50%). (For example, three (3) years of Primary Experience and two (2) years of Secondary Experience would meet the 4 years experience requirements). Applicants for Class II Licenses must document experience with installations in excess of single phase, 200 amperes systems.
(3) Primary Experience shall mean working experience gained through the direct installation of electrical systems of a type covered by the National Electrical Code and directly related activity. Primary Experience involves installation of electrical systems. The public welfare and overall life safety responsibility require that an electrical contractor have actual in-the-field experience and be competent in all phases of electrical work. Nothing in this rule shall be construed to permit the unlicensed practice of electrical contracting. Applicants for Class II licenses must document prior experience in all of the following, and applicants for Class I license must document primary experience in at least 6 of the following:
(a) Installation of raceway systems, including pull boxes, junction boxes, conduit bodies and the connections in the system and to cabinets, panelboards, switchboards, and boxes, which meet all Code use and installation requirements.
(b) Installation of conductors, including flexible cords, cables, splices, taps, terminations, bonding jumpers, overcurrent protective devices, metering devices, etc., in cabinets, panelboards, switchboards, boxes and conduit, which meet all Codes use and installation requirements, such as to sizing, ampacity, voltage, etc.
(c) Installation of service entrances, metering devices, cabinets, switchboards, service risers and fasteners, overcurrent protective devices, disconnecting means, ground electrodes, main bonding jumpers, and ground fault protectors which all meet Code installation requirements, such as to sizing, rating, clearances, and weatherproofing.
(d) Installation of motors and generators with feeders, branch circuits, overcurrent protective devices, disconnect means, and controllers all of which meet Code installation requirements, such as sizing, rating, usage, and location.
(e) Installation of switches, disconnects, controls, etc., which supply lighting fixtures, appliances, electrical circuits, controls for heating and air conditioning equipment, other utilization and general use equipment, according to use and Code installation requirements.
(f) Installation of materials and equipment required for use in special occupancies according to use and Code installation requirements, as defined by Chapter 5 of the National Electrical Code.
(g) Bonding of interior metal piping systems, installation of properly sized equipment grounding conductors, grounding of exposed noncurrent carrying metal parts of electrical equipment, and protection of grounding conductors from physical damage.
(h) Determination of general lighting loads, minimum branch circuits, minimum ampacity of conductors in feeder and branch circuits, maximum allowable conductor fill for raceways, net loads, using specified or optional methods, rates or demand factors, and derating factors given in the Code.
(4) Secondary Experience shall mean work or training experience related to electrical contracting work involving electrical systems covered by the National Electrical Code. Examples of Secondary Experience may include:
(a) Instruction received on electrical installation, theory, and code by a full-time secondary or post secondary instructor in an established class at a recognized learning center.
(b) Inspection of electrical wiring by a full-time municipal or county inspector.
(c) Electrical engineering design by a registered professional engineer.
(d) Work for a licensed electrical contractor with sole responsibility in at least three (3) of the following areas: estimating; project management; scheduling and assigning work; preparing progress charts (CPM's or other flow charts); sales and cash flow responsibilities such as budgetary, preparation of pay request, invoices, etc.
(e) Installation of electrically lighted signs.
(5) Education may be applied toward the experience requirements as follows:
(a) Completion of a two (2) academic year minimum diploma.
(b) Completion of a two (2) academic year minimum certificate program of a vocational-technical school may be credit as no more than one (1) year of experience.
(6) The Board, in its discretion, may allow for the oral administration of the examination. Requests for oral administration of the examination must be received in writing and approved by the Division prior to the examination being scheduled. In conjunction with any request for oral administration of the examination, the applicant shall give full and complete explanation of any physical, emotional, or educational limitation. The decision of the Division concerning such a request is final.

Rule 121-2-.02 Statewide Master and Journeyman Plumber License

(1) To obtain a statewide Class I or Class II master plumber or a statewide journeyman plumber license, a person must submit a completed application, meet the experience requirement, obtain a score of seventy (70) on the appropriate examination, and pay the required fees. An applicant must provide three persons who are currently licensed as plumbers who can attest to the applicant's good character and plumbing experience to the satisfaction of the Division. At least one reference must be a licensed master plumber. Statewide Class I master plumber licenses are restricted to plumbing involving single-family dwellings and one-level dwellings designed for not more than two families and commercial structures not to exceed 10,000 square feet in area. Statewide Class II master plumber licenses are unrestricted.
(2) Applicants for statewide master plumber license must document a minimum of 5 years experience in plumbing work as would be covered by items of the Georgia State Plumbing Code. At least 2 years of experience must be Primary Experience as defined in paragraph (5) below. Applicants for Class II Unrestricted master plumber license must document experience in commercial or industrial plumbing.
(3) Applicants for statewide journeyman plumbers license must document a minimum of 3 years experience in plumbing work as would be covered by items of the Georgia State Plumbing Code. Such experience may be Primary or Secondary experience as defined in paragraphs (5) or (6) below.
(4) Primary Experience shall mean working experience gained through the direct installation of plumbing systems of a type which would be covered by the Georgia State Plumbing Code and/or under supervision of a licensed master plumber and directly related activity. Examples of Primary Experience would include; but not be limited to:
(a) installation of plumbing pipes and fixtures by a plumbing contractor, master plumber, journeyman plumber, plumbing foreman, plumbing superintendent, a military plumber with a rank of at least a 3rd class petty officer or E-4 noncommissioned officer;
(b) mechanical engineer or design by a registered professional engineer having responsibility for follow-up project inspection.
(5) Secondary Experience shall mean work experience gained while engaged in work or training related to the installation of plumbing which would be covered by the Georgia State Plumbing Code. Examples of Secondary Experience may include; but not be limited to:
(a) installation of plumbing pipes and fixtures by a plumbing apprentice, trainee, or helper;
(b) plumbing work performed by a maintenance employee;
(c) instruction on plumbing installation, theory, and code by a fulltime secondary or post secondary instructor;
(d) inspection of plumbing by a full-time municipal or county inspector;
(e) mechanical engineering or design by a registered professional engineer without having responsibility for project inspection;
(f) estimating plumbing work for a plumbing contractor.
(6) Education may be applied toward the experience requirement as Secondary Experience as follows:
(a) completion of a diploma program of a technical school in Engineering Technology may be credited as no more than 2 years of Secondary Experience;
(b) completion of a certificate program of a vocational-technical school may be credited as no more than 1 year of Secondary Experience.

Rule 121-2-.03 Conditioned Air Contractor License

(1) To obtain a Class I (Restricted) or Class II (Non-restricted) conditioned air contractor license, a person must submit a completed application, meet the prerequisite experience requirement, obtain a score of seventy (70) on the appropriate examination, and pay all fees required by the Board. An applicant must submit three references on the required form from persons who can attest to the applicant's good character and conditioned air experience to the satisfaction of the Division. Each reference must be from an Architect, Professional Engineer, Inspector, or licensed conditioned air contractor who shall include his or her registration or license number. Class I conditioned air contractor licenses are restricted to conditioned air contracting involving conditioned air systems or equipment not exceeding 175,000 BTU of heating and 60,000 BTU of cooling, and Class II licenses are unrestricted. For classifying systems, each complete system in a single installation is to be considered an individual job.
(2) Applicants must document a minimum of four years experience for Class I and five years for Class II in conditioned air work of a type covered by the Georgia Heating and Air Conditioning Code, (regardless of whether such Code was applicable to the work in the area or at the time such work was performed by the applicant). Applicants for Class II licenses must document experience with installations of conditioned air systems which exceed 175,000 BTU (net) of heating and 60,000 BTU of cooling.
(3) "Experience" shall mean working experience gained through the direct installation of and responsibility for conditioned air systems of a type covered by the Georgia Heating and Air Conditioning Code (regardless of whether such Code was in effect in the area or at the time the applicant gained such experience) and activities related directly thereto.
(a) Experience for Class I shall consist of two years of residential installation experience as a lead mechanic, one year as a service technician (to include an E.P.A. license), one year of residential supervisory experience, and a Board approved heat loss and gain and duct design course.
(b) Experience for Class II shall consist of two years of installation as a lead mechanic with at least one of the years being commercial only, one year as a service technician or service supervisor (to include an E.P.A. license), two years of commercial supervisory experience and a Board approved heat loss and gain and duct design course.
(4) Education may be applied toward the experience requirements as follows:
(a) completion of a diploma program of a technical school in engineering or engineering technology may be credited as no more than 2 years experience;
(b) completion of a certificate program of a vocational-technical school may be credited as no more than 1 year experience.
(5) All classifications of work experience, unless specifically listed in the examples provided in this rule, shall be made by the Board. Such classifications of experience by the Board shall be final except that, within the Board's sole discretion, an applicant may be allowed to appear before the Board to explain such experience.

Rule 121-2-.04 Statewide Low-Voltage Contractor License

(1) To obtain a statewide class LV-A, Class LV-T, Class LV-U, or class LV-G contractor license, a person must submit a completed application, meet the prerequisite experience requirements, obtain a score of seventy (70) on the appropriate examination, and pay the required fees. Statewide class LV-A low voltage contractor licenses are restricted to alarm and general system low-voltage contracting. Statewide Class LV-T low voltage contractors licenses are restricted to telecommunication and general system low-voltage contracting. Statewide class LV-G low voltage contractor licenses are restricted to general system low-voltage contracting. Statewide LV-U low-voltage licenses are unrestricted.
(2) To qualify for taking the examination, applicants for statewide low-voltage contractor license must have a minimum of one (1) year experience in low-voltage wiring in the category of licensure for which the applicant is applying. Completion of courses in electronics through a school of engineering technology or a technical trade school will be credited as experience equivalent to the actual instructional time up to a maximum of six (6) months.
(3) General low-voltage systems mean any electrical systems, other than alarm or telecommunication systems, involving low-voltage wiring, as defined in Code Section 43-14-2-10.3, including, but not limited to stand alone intercom systems and call alert systems (audio or visual); distribution wiring for alarm systems and telecommunications systems including local area network systems; sound systems; public address systems; the low voltage side of energy management systems; antenna systems and satellite dish systems, except CATV systems exempted in Code Section 43-14-13(i); irrigation system wiring; and low voltage lighting.

Rule 121-2-.05 Statewide License by Endorsement

(1) A person may be issued a contractor, master, journeyman, or manager license by submitting a completed application which documents that he meets the prerequisite experience requirements and holds a current out of state license in an appropriate classification based on passing an examination issued and conducted by a licensing board qualifying under paragraph (2) of this rule, with the required application fee and license fee.
(2) To qualify for purposes of this rule, an out of state licensing board must conduct examinations and have requirements which are substantially equal to the examination and requirements of this board at the time the application for license is filed with this board, provided that a similar privilege is offered to persons licensed under this board, and that a formal written agreement exists between the subject's licensing boards. The type and classification of license issued will be determined by this Board based on the requirements of the other licensing board.
(3) The appropriate division of the board may deny a license under this rule if it appears that the applicant is attempting to circumvent the requirements of Georgia law by first becoming licensed in another state, or if the applicant has been the subject of disciplinary action in the state in which licensed or has committed any act which would be grounds for disciplinary action in this State.
(4) Persons licensed under grandfather provisions who have not passed an examination conducted by a licensing board qualifying under paragraph (2) of this rule will not qualify for license under this rule.

Rule 121-2-.06 Review Course for Re-examination

(1) Any applicant for conditioned air contractor, electrical contractor, master plumber, or journeyman plumber who takes and fails the examination twice after July 1, 1989, must present satisfactory evidence to the appropriate division of the board that the applicant has completed a board approved review course before such applicant will be scheduled for a third examination. If such applicant fails the examination a third time, the applicant shall not be required to complete additional courses prior to taking subsequent examinations.
(2) Any applicant for a low-voltage license or a certificate as a utility manager who takes and fails the examination twice may complete a board approved review course. If such course is completed, then evidence of such completion may be submitted to the appropriate division.
(3) To be approved, an outline of the review course must be submitted to the appropriate division of the board. Such outline must list the topics covered, the actual time of instruction, the name of the instructor, and other information determined necessary for division review. The review course must meet one of the following:
(a) a course which covers code requirements conducted by a college, postsecondary technical school, or a military service; or
(b) a course of a minimum of 6 hours of actual instruction, conducted by an instructor who holds a contractor or master license in the appropriate trade and who has prior teaching or training experience acceptable to the appropriate division. The course must cover the following topics:
1. a review of examination topics;
2. a review of examinations references;
3. instruction on code, calculations, and other examination topics;
4. instructions on testing skills;
5. instructions on study and examination preparation skills; and 6. other related topics acceptable to the division; or
(c) a course of a minimum of 6 hours of actual instruction related to code or industry practices, conducted by an instructor who holds a contractor or master license in the appropriate trade and who has prior teaching and training experience acceptable to the appropriate division.
(d) a correspondence course related to code or industry practices, the successful completion of which is determined by a written evaluation, which is acceptable to the division; or
(4) A review course may be disapproved under this Rule if the appropriate division determines that the course does not meet the requirements of Paragraph (2) of this Rule, or that the course does not provide adequate instruction in assisting the candidates to prepare for the examination, or that persons associated with the course violated or assisted in violations of the licensure law, Board Rules, or examination procedures. Persons desiring the division to reconsider its decision concerning approval of a course must submit the request in writing within thirty (30) days of being notified of the decision. Such persons may request to meet with the appropriate division to provide additional information concerning the course. The decision of the appropriate division of the Board concerning approval of review courses is final.

Rule 121-2-.07 Statewide Utility Contractor License

(1) The applicant for statewide utility contractor examination must submit a completed application which:
(a) Indicates if the applicant is a sole proprietorship, partnership, or corporation and, if a partnership or corporation, lists the names and addresses of the partners or officers and when and where formed or incorporated.
(b) Includes a copy of the safety policy adopted by the applicant. The safety policy must state the applicant's concern and support of safety, active and continuing efforts to provide a safe working environment, compliance with state and federal safety requirements, maintenance of a safety program, and requirements for regularly scheduled safety meetings for all field personnel.
(c) Includes a statement attesting to the employment of at least one current utility manager certificate holder on a regular, full-time basis to supervise the applicant's utility work by each permanent office.
(2) The utility contractor must notify the division in writing within five (5) days of the severance of connection between such utility contractor and the utility manager certificate holder or holders upon whom the qualification of the utility contractor rests.

Rule 121-2-.08 Statewide Utility Manager Certificate

(1) Applicants for statewide utility manager certificate must:
(a) submit a completed application;
(b) meet the prerequisite experience requirement, as defined in this Rule;
(c) pay the required fees;
(d) and obtain a score of seventy (70) on the utility manager examination.
(2) Applicants for utility manager certificate must have a minimum of 2 years of experience as a licensed utility foreman in the State of Georgia or equivalent experience from another state as a manager or foreman in the field and a minimum of 3 years total experience for the construction, erection, alteration, or repair of utility systems at least five feet underground, including but not limited to 12 hours of actual instruction from a board-approved safety training course.
(3) Applicants for a statewide utility manager certificate must submit notarized letters on company letterhead from their employers listed in Part II - Experience Record on the Application for Certification as a Utility Manager to verify their experience record in the field for the minimum duration required for certification by this rule.

Rule 121-2-.09 Statewide Utility Foreman Certificate

(1) Applicants for a statewide utility foreman certificate must submit a completed application with the required fee, which documents the successful completion of a division approved course of safety training as detailed in section 121-2-.10 of the board rules.
(2) Applicants for a statewide utility foreman certificate must have at least one (1) year of experience in the field in the construction, erection, alteration or repair of utility systems at least five feet underground to be eligible for this certification.
(3) Applicants for a statewide utility foreman certificate must submit notarized letters on company letterhead from their employers listed in Part II - Experience Record on the Application for Certification as a Utility Foreman to verify their experience record in the field for the minimum duration required for certification by this rule.

Rule 121-2-.10 Utility Foreman Safety Training Course

(1) The Safety Training Course required of persons applying for utility foreman certification must be a course with at least 12 hours of actual instruction including Competent Person in Trenching and Excavation and Confined Space Entry Training. The course must give adequate instruction on methods of design of protective systems, procedures for conducting initial inspections, soil assessment methods, methods for checking for the presence of fissures, methods of assessing the capacity of the system to resist load, methods of assessing the stability of adjoining structures, and methods of conducting daily inspections and inspection based on changing circumstances, as covered by 29CFP11926(P). The course instructor must have field experience, training experience, and educational background and have completed a Safety Training Course, acceptable to the division.
(2) In order to be approved as a Safety Training Course, the course outline and procedures, participate workbook, and instructor's qualifications must be submitted to the utility division. If the course and the instructor are acceptable to the division, the course will receive probationary approval for one year. Continuation of the approval beyond the initial one year period will be based on the board review of the course and instructor, any audit by the division of the course, participants attending. As a condition of approval, the division reserves the right to have members or staff attend courses unannounced and without charge. If the division determines that the course is not adequate or the instructor is not qualified, the division may cancel its approval at any time. If the course or instructor are not accepted by OSHA as adequate for competent person training, or confined space entry training, the division may cancel its approval of the course or instructor at any time. Persons conducting a course for which approval has been denied or canceled may request to meet with the division to discuss the course.

Rule 121-2-.11 Statewide Plumber Medical Gas Piping Systems Certification

(1) Medical gas piping is any piping system purveying oxygen, nitrous oxide, medical compressed air, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, or other nonflammable medical gas and/or a vacuum piping within a medical, dental, or other health care facility including a laboratory within a health care facility.
(2) To obtain a Statewide Medical Gas Piping Certification to install, maintain, alter, or repair medical gas piping systems a person must:
(a) Hold a current Georgia master or journeyman plumber license;
(b) Successfully complete a 32 hour division approved medical gas piping certification program in compliance with American Society of Sanitary Engineers 6000 series based on the National Fire Protection Association Standard on Gas and Vacuum Systems (National Fire Protection Association 99) currently approved by the State Fire Marshal. Program must include:
1. a minimum of 24 hours classroom instruction; and
2. a written examination and braze testing as per American Society of Mechanical Engineers Section IX or American Welding Society B2.2. Braze test must be performed on a minimum of 1 1/2" type "L" tubing; and
(c) complete and return an application form with documentation of successful completion of a division approved Medical Gas Piping Certification Program.
(3) The STATEWIDE MEDICAL GAS PIPING CERTIFICATION will become void if one or more of the following occurs:
(a) The Georgia master or journeyman plumber license becomes inactive, suspended or revoked;
(b) The STATEWIDE MEDICAL GAS PIPING CERTIFICATION is surrendered; or
(c) The STATEWIDE MEDICAL GAS PIPING CERTIFICATION holder fails to perform brazing during each 12 month period. The certificate holder must maintain and submit to the board office upon request documentation of having performed such brazing for the previous 2 years. Such documentation must be signed by a licensed plumber who witnessed the brazing.

If the statewide medical gas piping certificate holder fails to braze to the piping procedure as outlined by National Fire Protection Association 99 during each 12 months, the certificate holder shall be required to pass a braze test as per American Society of Mechnical Engineers. Section IX or American Welding Such braze test must be conducted by a division approved medical gas piping certification program.

Rule 121-2-.12 Licensure for Military Spouses and Transitioning Service Members

(1) As used in the rule:
(a) "License" means the definition provided in O.C.G.A. § 43-1-34 to include a document, permit, certificate of registration, or other authorization issued by or on behalf of the State Construction Industry Licensing Board;
(b) "Military" means the United States armed forces, including the National Guard;
(c) "Military spouse" means a spouse of a service member or transitioning service member;
(d) "Service member" means an active or reserve member of the armed forces, including the National Guard.
(e) "Transitioning service member" means a member of the military on active duty status or on separation leave who is within 24 months of retirement or 12 months of separation.
(2) Effective July 1, 2017, military spouses and transitioning service members may qualify for expedited processing of the license application by showing that the applicant is a military spouse or transitioning service member and that the applicant has paid the fee and meets the requirements for a license under the law and rules for the type of license for which the applicant has applied.